Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ali45 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 21, 2003, 08:17 AM
    Grammar
    Does this part of a sentence sound English to you
    " There are such lots of shops in this department store that..?
    elina Posts: 136, Reputation: 1

Oct 22, 2003, 12:56 AM
    Re: grammar
    ali45, I'm no expert in linguistic, but I think this sentence does sound awkward with the word "such" included in the sentence, followed by the word "lots" as plural.

But, actually this sentence does make sense if you are referring to "lots" as a noun to signify land, and "such" as an adjective to signify "in degree".

At this online dictionary site:

http://www.yourdictionary.com/ahd/l/l0255700.html, it gave the definition of "lots" as follows:

"lot" is defined as:

n.
    1. An object used in making a determination or choice at random: casting lots.
    a. The use of objects in making a determination or choice at random: chosen by lot.
    b. The determination or choice so made.
    3. Something that befalls one because of or as if because of determination by lot.
    4. One's fortune in life; fate.
    5. A number of associated people or things: placating an angry lot of tenants; kids who made a noisy lot.
    6. Kind; type: That dog is a contented lot.
    7. Miscellaneous articles sold as one unit.
    8. Informal
    a. A large extent, amount, or number. Often used in the plural: is in a lot of trouble; has lots of friends.
    b. Used adverbially with a or in the plural to mean "to a great degree or extent" or "frequently": felt a lot better; ran lots faster; doesn't go out a whole lot; has seen her lots lately.
    a. A piece of land having specific boundaries, especially one constituting a part of a city, town, or block.
    b. A piece of land used for a given purpose: a parking lot.
    a. The complete grounds of a film studio.
    b. The outdoor area of a film studio.

tr.v. lot·ted, lot·ting, lots
    To apportion by lots; allot.