Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    EliEW Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 2, 2011, 02:09 PM
    Can my supervisor divulge personal medical information to her supervisor and HR?
    HIPPA Law in CO as it relates to substance abuse

I took a two week absences from work to detox my body from alcohol and seek counseling from a CD Counselor. I work as a dental assistant at a prestigious university . I shared this information with my direct supervisor (the dentist) and asked her to keep it confidential. She asked me to tell her supervisor, the manager of the clinic, which I agreed to do when I returned to work. She took it upon herself to divulge my personal, medical information to the clinic manager,who then reported the same information to the HR Benefits personnel. I believe my HIPPA rights have been violated as I do not believe that I have to divulge my medical condition to anyone. In addition, I believe that both my superivisor and hers have violated my rights per HIPPA. Am I correct and if so, how should I proceed?
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Feb 2, 2011, 02:28 PM
    Those people have a right to know.
    Your HIPAA rights have not been violated. It was incumbent upon your supervisor to inform those people ASAP since there may be rules in place about your ability to return to some/all your duties without certain formalities, such as a release from an MD.
    EliEW Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 2, 2011, 02:41 PM
    Comment on joypulv's post
    I do have a medical release which I discussed with my supervisor and am filling out the required paperwork from HR. What if my co-workers were informed of my condition? It makes it very uncomfortable for me to return to work if they all know.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Feb 2, 2011, 03:04 PM
    It's best to use Answer rather than Comment.