Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    poofie Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 26, 2011, 09:50 PM
    How does abused spouse still married due to health and lack of income leave spouse?
    After counseling, police victim advocate and social workers, everyone says leave, but due to no recent physical abuse (tons of verbal, neglect, antagonistic mentally cruel treatment daily), and due to his income being included though we've lived separately for 2.5 years. I cannot qualify for separate low income facilities. ( no legal separation in Fl or TX) Because we are still married. I was asked by my 17 yr old and told to come back with my failing health, and I truly missed my daughter.. so it was agreed, I came to live with them (he and my daughter in Texas) Completely broke, cannot afford health care ( cancer, diabetic, hbc, vision etc.) The good thing is, I am a veteran and part of my service connected disability has granted me some care. I need full coverage which he has with the military. He just retired. We have a home but I cannot afford it without a roommate,(idea which he dissapproves of). I am not in the best of health, I just want to be free of this without making myself homeless or lose what is left of what I own. I have been selling my things to survive, and I work part time as I can at my job on which I make a pitance. If anyone really knows how to solve a quagmire let me know.
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member

Jan 27, 2011, 10:52 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by poofie View Post