Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bigred26448 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 21, 2011, 11:48 AM
    My wife had and affair
    My had and affair with a guy she use 2 go 2 high school with. She told me the reason be cause I was not showing her love. I drive truck for a living and on the road a lot. See I thought I was but it was not enough. I ask her 1 time before if she was seeing someone and she told me no. But deep down I had a feeling she was so I keep o and keep on asking then she came out and said she was. She said it had been going on 4 about a year off and on. It broke my heart but I didn't want 2 let her iI want 2 work on us. I 4 gave her and she said she was not seen the guy any more. It been about 2 year now and I want 2 trust her but it is so hard. You know it the little thing that is driving me crazy now when she get call she talk real low or I'll call her and she tell me 2 hold on and she 4 get about me on the line things like that I just don't know what 2 do I love her.
    Jake2008 Posts: 6,721, Reputation: 3460
    Emotional Health Expert

Jan 21, 2011, 01:00 PM
    I'm sorry you are going through this, and that you have mistrust and doubt as to your wife's honesty and fidelity.

It is hard to dismiss feelings left when you do become aware that your partner has cheated on you, and more than once. Love is one thing, but it doesn't work well without trust.

It is possible to work through infidelity, and all the consequences that are left unresolved, because of it. That you are both still together, there is hope. But, it is not without a commitment from both of you, to address all the issues. Not just the cheating itself, but all the emotional fallout that has resulted because of the cheating.

In my opinion, you would be perfectly justified in insisting on marriage counselling. This will pave the way for her to work on her commitment to you, and also pave the way for you to be able to express and work through the effect her actions have had.