Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    longjohn4 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 4, 2011, 07:48 PM
    My roof has a layer of ice building on the inside of the roof,I'm wondering why?
    Weeks.would love to here if this has happin to anyone.. I am new to this fourm...
    ma0641 Posts: 15,675, Reputation: 1012
    Uber Member

Jan 5, 2011, 02:28 PM
    This is not uncommon in very cold environs. Moisture laden air from the house, e.g. bath vents that dump into the attic, pull down stairs etc. penetrate into the attic space, condenses and freezes. Lack of insulation or poor ventilation will also cause this. Make sure all bath vents are connected to an outside damper. Allowing ice and water to stay on the underside will rot the roof. How much insulation do you have? Is it wet?
    longjohn4 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 6, 2011, 09:21 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by ma0641 View Post
    This is not uncommon in very cold environs. Moisture laden air from the house, e.g.,bath vents that dump into the attic, pull down stairs etc., penetrate into the attic space, condenses and freezes. Lack of insulation or poor ventilation will also cause this. Make sure all bath vents are connected to an outside damper. Allowing ice and water to stay on the underside will rot the roof. How much insulation do you have? Is it wet?
    Thanks for your help.. I'm new to this site.. it has been about -8 for a couple weeks now.. my roof is well insulated,I went up there and pulled all thoughs styrofoam vents that vents into the soffits,the plywood was all blacken by these.I think it was too much insulation, I don't think these vents were working properly.. hopefully I caught this in time.. the roof is only a 15 years old,with a 40 shingle...
    ma0641 Posts: 15,675, Reputation: 1012
    Uber Member

Jan 6, 2011, 10:01 AM
    Comment on longjohn4's post
    Any water vapor going into that temperature will freeze very quickly. Make sure you have good gable or soffit ventilation.