Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    TeacherSCHARP Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 4, 2011, 04:49 PM
    Going to the bathroom A LOT!
    I am a Kindergarten teacher and have a five year old boy who says he needs to use the restroom very frequently. He has asked to go up to 12 times in a day. Sometimes more than once an hour he says he has to go and he can't wait. Well, I don't want accidents or accusations from parents that I won't allow him to go to the restroom. We goes as a class 3 times a day - once in the morning (8:30), before lunch at 10:20, and after recess at 11:30, and they are allowed to go as needed during snack time wich follows rest at 1:30. They are not allowed to go when I am teaching or giving directions for work or during rest time. (other classes are taking their turn at that time)
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Jan 4, 2011, 04:52 PM

He may have a bladder infection. Or, he may be doing it to get out of class. Are teachers today allowed to ask the mother and talk with her about this?
    Alty Posts: 28,317, Reputation: 5972
    Pets Expert

Jan 4, 2011, 04:58 PM

I would talk to the parents about this, see what the child is like at home.

If he goes just as frequently at home then I would say it's time for a doctor visit to rule out anything medical.

A long time ago (when I was 20) I worked at a daycare center. We had one kindergarten kid that frequently used the bathroom. The parents actually approached me about the issue because the school he went to had voiced their concerns. A doctors appointment didn't yield anything, he was in perfect health. The parents talked to him and he didn't say a thing. Finally I decided to have a heart to heart with him.