Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Blondie29 Posts: 15, Reputation: 3

Nov 9, 2010, 01:52 AM
    Thinking about leaving my husband. The only reason I stay is our daughter.
    I am only 21 and I have a daughter who is 1. I am married to a man who has been previously married and divorced with a 4 year old son. I can not seem to get over his past. He has always struggled financially because he pay $600 per month in child support. He has not done anything to modify the default divorcée decree in over 2 years. I just don't understand he can not even provide for me and our daughter every month. I get really frustrated because when I need to buy my daughter something she needs he complains about the cost. I am a full time student and I make $800 a month. My husband used to have a job making $20.00 per hour until he quit to go to school a couple months ago. Now he is making $11 PT and still paying child support. I am so lost right now and I need to get pointed in the right direction. He tells me he loves me but continues to bring up my past, yell at me, calls me names. I know I'm not a perfect angel but I do try to make things work for our daughter. Has anyone had to deal with this in the past? I really need advise on what to do so I can get on the path to happiness.
    donf Posts: 5,679, Reputation: 582
    Printers & Electronics Expert

Nov 9, 2010, 06:24 AM

Blondie,

Just curious, when you married your husband, did you know of his past life?

Let it go! He cannot change his past anymore than you can change your past.

Draw a line in your histories and don't go beyond that any more.

As to changing his child support payments, if it is a court ordered payment, he may not be able to get it reduced.
    answerme_tender Posts: 1,148, Reputation: 689
    Ultra Member

Nov 9, 2010, 07:52 AM

What does he bring up about your past all the time?

Nov 9, 2010, 09:32 AM