Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Oct 18, 2010, 03:27 PM
    I'm new at this and really confused
    I'm hoping some of you computer gurus can help me out here. My husband is starting his own business and has been advised to start a website.

I haven't a clue about web hosting or the costs, what's best or worse, or even how to begin to design a site.

I've heard that godaddy is good, as well as InMotion, just to name a couple. Does anyone have any advice for me?
    cdad Posts: 12,700, Reputation: 1438
    Internet Research Expert

Oct 18, 2010, 04:17 PM

There are lots of free sites you can park at. One of the things your going to have to get first is a name for yourself. SO you / he can now be a dotcom ;)

You can check that and see how much a name may be.

Plenty of parking on the net to get his name out there and also don't forget YouTube for video promotions.
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Oct 18, 2010, 05:43 PM

We already have a domain name that is available.
    cdad Posts: 12,700, Reputation: 1438
    Internet Research Expert

Oct 18, 2010, 05:57 PM

OK, step 2 is to find a place to park it. From there you put your site up and your off and running.
    Northwind_Dagas Posts: 348, Reputation: 83

Oct 18, 2010, 06:55 PM

Microsoft has a suite of online tools to help a small business get online will no technical know-how required. Most are free, including basic hosting.

http://www.microsoft.com/business/en...s/default.aspx
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Oct 20, 2010, 02:01 AM
    Hi, J_9!

Some helpful hints, in case your interested...