Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jsf252 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 11, 2010, 06:29 AM
    Voltage at Defrost Board
    Hello, my A/C and Heat are working correctly after I replaced a faulty defrost board. However I noticed that when I test voltage on all the wires coming from the air handler (yellow, red, green, etc.. ) at the defrost board, I'm only reading ~5.3V. The defrost board says "24V AC". I can test voltage at the air handler and again I get the 5.3V. I looked on the transformer and it even says "24V AC". I'm no electrician but I'm trying to understand this. Is the 24V split up among all the wires? Why do I only read 5.3V?

Again, everything is working correctly (for now). The A/C worked flawlessly all summer after I replaced the defrost board. I have late 90's Intertherm heat pump system.

Just curious as to how this works.

Thanks.

Check out some similar questions!

Maytag adaptive defrost control board [ 0 Answers ]

I need to find out where I can find the location of the adaptive defrost control board for my Maytag side by side refrigerator

Replace a defrost board in old Goodman unit [ 1 Answers ]

How do I replace a defrost board in a 16 year old air conditioner and do I have to buy a defrost board made by Goodman?

Need to know placement of defrost control board for MAYTAG MSD2757AEA [ 1 Answers ]

Can anyone tell me the placement of the Defrost control board on a MAYTAG PLUS MSD2757AEA, NEEDS TO BE REPLACE. THANK YOU MUCHhttps://www.askmehelpdesk.com/images/smilies/eek.gif

Faulty defrost controller board? [ 3 Answers ]

I have as split-unit heat pump. When I got home the other day, it was 90 degrees! The air coming out of the vents was warm. However, neither the outside fan nor the compressor were running. A technician told me that the controller board was faulty but he would not be able to replace the board until...

Defrost control board [ 1 Answers ]