Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    becka6158 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 1, 2007, 11:53 AM
    My 21 year old son is out of control
    Does anyone know the laws in Maryland about having someone committed. My son is drinking a lot and keeps trying to hurt himself and anyone around him. Last night he grabbed the steering wheel of someone who had went to pick him up (they were doing about 70 mph), when that did not work he tried to get out of the car while they were moving, when they stopped at a red light on a major highway he got out of the car and started walking. I need to know what my options are before he kills himself or someone else.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jan 1, 2007, 12:30 PM
    Since he is an adult, it is harder, and the state laws vary, when I was a police officer, a police officer who witnesses or has reason to believe a person is mentally unstable can put them in for a 24 hour eval.

For provate it took the evidence of two or three family menbers or the persons doctor, cana present evidence to the court for a mandatory eval.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jan 1, 2007, 01:50 PM
    The place to start is with his doctor. If he has a record of trying to hurt himself, the doctor can help start the process.
    becka6158 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 1, 2007, 04:03 PM
    Thank you for your response's. With the help of his ex-girlfriend we got him to come home so that we can provide him with the TLC he needs right now and get him to the doctor and/or hospital for professional help.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jan 1, 2007, 04:10 PM
    Glad to hear it
    nwsflash Posts: 530, Reputation: 73

Jan 2, 2007, 03:23 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by becka6158