Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    HumblePeacock Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 5, 2010, 05:42 AM
    US citizen looking to relocate to Florence, Italy to live & work?
    I have an interest to live & work abroad in Florence and would like suggestions of the current employment status in Florence, Italy. My professional background is in two industries -- Fashion industry and Media industry. I was laid off and would like to pursue my long term goal now which is to relocate to Florence, Italy.

Can someone please advise of companies that will help a US citizen find employent in Florence. I'm looking for a salary of $45K to $50K year. I understand I typed in US $ I apologize I'm still learning the conversion to European $ not sure what that will convert to yearly.

Also what are safe, clean, & culturally diverse residential areas in Florence to live in I could rent a 1bedroom apt.

I would appreciate as much information and help as soon as possible.

Thank you kindly.
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Oct 5, 2010, 06:47 AM

Word of advice... from someone who DOES have the legal ability to work in Italy, and actually has in the past.

The economic situation there is far worse than most of the USA. Unless you have a degree of fluency in the Italian language you are going to have problems... most of the world does not pander to those who do not speak the local language... Italy is no different. Florence can be VERY expensive to live, particularly the nicer zones. I haven't lived in Firenze but have longtime Italian friends that do. Its going to be difficult at best to accquire a work Visa. And count on taxes and prices being high. The average Italian wage is significantly lower than the same job in the USA ever considering the exchange. And you are certain to hit resistance from employers about hiring a non-citizen.