Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    wallabee4 Posts: 294, Reputation: 19

Sep 27, 2010, 09:15 AM
    What wording should I use for SAHM on a resume? Is humor OK?
    I recognize how competitive and tight today's job market is, and here I am trying to re-enter it... But I am also an exceptional worker, always have been promoted quickly, was self-taught in nearly every job I held prior to (and including) motherhood. But now I face that my job history is 10 years old, some of my old employers are even dead(!) Yet I know my work ethic is exceptional, but how do I get noticed on a stack of job apps or resumes to get to that interview process to show them that? I have been a very involved stay at home mom, supplementing my kid's public educations, feeding a family with a home garden, repairing and remodeling and landscaping homes in major projects (self taught), being a motivator, teacher, personal organizer, motivational speaker, entertainment coordinator, safety officer, etc. etc etc

Should I just list all those job-titles and handle it humorously? I'd really appreciate an actual human resources person who does hiring to give me feedback on what your take would be if you saw such a job app or resume that listed all those titles under one job heading to cover my recent 10 years of employment and then followed with (aka stay at home mom)?
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Sep 27, 2010, 09:41 AM

Unforunately, when you post on AMHD you don't get to decide who will answer you and what their level of experience is.

That having been said - I run my own business, hire people, have managed law firms, hired people.

I never found "humor" to be effective or appropriate. Your sense of humor very well may not be the same sense of humor as the person reading your resume.