Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rachabelle Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Dec 29, 2006, 01:47 PM
    Witness Protection Questions
    Hello,

I'm a writer doing research for a fiction novel and stumbled across this website - hope someone can help me! :)

I have a few questions about the witness protection program. First off, can a noncriminal be placed into the program? Every website I've looked at so far has only mentioned criminals being placed into the program. If someone was merely a bystander or an innocent accomplice - say, a secretary or a coworker to a criminal - could they be placed into the Witness Protection Program?

Second, do they always relocate someone to a big city? Or if that person was a "big-city" type of person, would it be reasonable for them to relocate them to a smaller, possibly rural area?

Thanks for your help, I appreciate it!!
    shygrneyzs Posts: 5,017, Reputation: 936
    Uber Member

Dec 29, 2006, 02:37 PM
    Hello there,

I can only answer part of your question - if non criminals are ever placed in the witness protection program. Yes, they can. For example, a witness to a crime. I once lived in an apartment complex where the managers (it came out later after the trial) were placed in that city under the witness protection program. They were both attorneys, the husband being one of the attorneys who had blown a whistle, so to speak.

The other part, about relocating to a rural area, I cannot say. It might be all possible.

Good luck in your research!
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 29, 2006, 04:10 PM
    Hello I will try and help with some information, In my previoius years I worked for a training program that trained some witness protection people for new jobs. ( in addition to some job training for federal inmates)