Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    LadyBeckstah4 Posts: 19, Reputation: 1

Sep 25, 2010, 03:34 PM
    English law student, can I move to and practice in America?
    Hi, I'm unsure if this is in the right section...

I am an undergraduate Law student in England in my second year. After a lot of thinking I have decided I would definitely pursue my Law career (I want to be a defence barrister) in America after getting my degree.

I would like to know what would be the next step, would I do a masters there or do a bar exam? How would I apply? Roughly how much it would cost me? Whether I would need to take further study in this country before moving there? Whether it is even possible? Basically.any useful information anyone has for me, as I am now very excited by the prospect and want to do as much preparation as possible.
    cdad Posts: 12,700, Reputation: 1438
    Internet Research Expert

Sep 25, 2010, 04:31 PM

You would have to learn law al over again in many ways. In America we don't have Barristers. We have Lawyers / Attorneys. And our law is split into several branches with a seciality in those branches. Also laws are state specific. So passing the barr in one state does not apply in another. As far as cost goes that varies also.
    happymg Posts: 5, Reputation: -1

Oct 24, 2010, 10:11 AM
    Rules regarding admission to practice law in the US vary from state to state. New York (NY) seems to be the most open state in admitting foreigners to practice law in its jurisdiction. As long as your foreign legal education in the common law is comparable to the US legal education in terms of duration and substance (i.e. 3 or 4 years of law school), you can qualify to take the NY bar. After you graduate, you can have your credentials (i.e. certificate and transcript) evaluated in advance by the NY State Board of Law Examiners to see if this would be enough. See nybarexam.org for more details.