Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Green Elephant Posts: 106, Reputation: 8

Sep 23, 2010, 08:28 PM
    What would drive you to move?
    Hello All!

A bit ago I asked a question about the cities that have the best autumn season. I realize that I have to be more specific on what I've been feeling lately.

My girlfriend and I both live in Michigan, and soon she will be moving out of state somewhere (Possibly Pennsylvania) and I have too much keeping me here at the moment to move with her.

I have a good job, I'm in my second year of art college, and I'm in a serious band. Lately the idea of her leaving horrifies me, not because I think I'll lose her, but because I don't want to be without her everyday, and only video chat/talk on the phone.

I feel because of this new perspective, It's made me think a lot about whether I always want to live in Michigan, or if I can see myself moving to a different state/city one day.

The girlfriend and I have discussed moving, because she isn't the biggest Michigan fan. But both of our families live here, and we've have friends and strong roots here.

I on the other hand Love Michigan, but sometimes I feel like the grass is greener in bigger, more "well known" cities.

I could get a new job, and the band could probably relocate a bigger city (It might even be better for us) But my question is:

What generally makes people decide to move to new cities in the first place?

Because to me, I can come up with reasons I should move to a different city, and many reasons I shouldn't. The thought of how many cities there are is staggering, and I'm always left feeling overwhelmed.

So any input on the subject would be MUCH appreciated. Thanks!
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Sep 23, 2010, 08:44 PM

Where in PA is she going? Philly and Pittsburgh are two movin' and groovin' cities. Would either work for you (in relation to her)?