Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    TheEternalCowboy Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 27, 2010, 06:46 AM
    Ceiling Fan Lighting Issues
    Let me preface this by saying I am completely new to home ownership and home repair, but am looking to learn.

The ceiling fan in the master bed room of a house I just purchased did not have a light, so I purchased a light kit to install. After installation, the fan continued working, but the light didn't turn on. I then tested the light on a different fan, in a different room, and confirmed that the light indeed works. I want to take a volt meter and get the voltage between the blue and white wires, which are the wires that are designated "FOR LIGHTS". Is this safe to do, and should I expect to see 120V?

Thanks for the help!
    revans3 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jul 27, 2010, 11:58 AM

Blue wire is hot, white is neutral. With a volt meter red lead
    Touching blue wire and black lead on white wire shout read
    120V. Check black hot wire in fan to see if it is connected.

revans3
    ceilingfanrepair Posts: 5,733, Reputation: 109
    Uber Member

Aug 13, 2010, 07:02 PM

Open the fan at the ceiling, and confirm the blue wire is connected.

Ceiling Fan Wiring, Ceiling Fan Wiring Technical Help, Do it Yourself (DIY) - Ceiling Fans N More

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Lighting for a ceiling fan [ 3 Answers ]

I have a ceiling fan. The light bulb is too low a wattage. It said no higher wattage should be used. Is it possible to install a new light kit with a higher watt in order to have more light? Thank you.

Ceiling fan lighting [ 2 Answers ]