Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mazzonewy Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 24, 2010, 11:48 AM
    Saving a Student
    Hello. This upcoming school year will be my 7th. I am a well liked teacher, and have won several awards for my approach and practice. During my first two years, I had the pleasure of having a group of at risk boys. We had a very good relationship, and I have been fortunate enough to have this connection with them today. I will not tell you that these are my best students; they get in trouble. But they are still in school, and I expect them to graduate. I cannot tell you that when I had them in class I would have predicted this outcome, but I am very proud of what they have accomplished-- despite their at risk behavior. My problem is, I have so many people around me that criticize my involvement with these kids. The popular menatility is they are little thugs that take advantage of me and don't deserve my inerventions. I hear this from everyone. I am not in there lives for friendship, but to keep them elevated enough so that they don't reinquish their potential before they use it. I'm torn. I have such a strong, verbal group on one side and a group of boys on the other. Help.
    Kitkat22 Posts: 6,302, Reputation: 1191
    Uber Member

Jul 24, 2010, 12:07 PM

You are probably their only salvation. Good teachers get involve. These kids for the most part will turn their life around because someone cares.

They have no stability at home, nor do they ever get the attention they need to become good kids.
    I wonder when one of their parents ever said "good Job, son"?

Keep up the good work. Everbody is worth something.
    DoulaLC Posts: 10,488, Reputation: 1952
    Uber Member

Jul 24, 2010, 03:32 PM