Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mikes2520 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 30, 2010, 11:34 PM
    Grounding in a cutler hammer panel
    I want to add a circuit to a CH breaker box. None of the branch wires currently in place have a ground. The new one will be outside and I wish to use a GFI outlet. How do I ground the outlet?
    tkrussell Posts: 9,659, Reputation: 725
    Uber Member

Jul 1, 2010, 04:25 AM
    Does the panel have the Main Breaker in it?
    mchepp Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Dec 14, 2010, 08:21 PM
    Im not an electrician but I have worked in the field for several years.. . My recommendation is run a new 12-2 romex with ground to your outside box for your GFI. Tie in your neutral,hot, ground, in the appropriate spots on your panel. Make sure your CH style box is grounded properly per local codes. Hook up the romex on the line side of the GFI plug. Again, Im not an electrician so double check with a local electrical contractor or a contractor on this website.
    tkrussell Posts: 9,659, Reputation: 725
    Uber Member

Dec 15, 2010, 06:36 AM
    This advice is too vague,

Quote Originally Posted by mchepp View Post
    Tie in your neutral,hot, ground, in the appropriate spots on your panel.
    If the original poster had answered my question, we could have then determined where the approriate spots to connect the ground would have been.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Sub Panel Grounding [ 13 Answers ]

How about if there are only 3 wires in a conduit. Can it be used only as 110v and take one of the hot wires, wrap it with green tape and use it as the equipment ground? An inspector also told me if the panel is in a separate detached building, a ground rod could be used and then you would treat...