Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    djn002 Posts: 13, Reputation: 1

Jun 29, 2010, 10:05 AM
    Changing jobs, relocating to a different state. Need advice on the interview process
    Hello, this is my situation. I live in NYC but my fiancé lives in PA. I work here in NY, and go visit her on the weekends or every other weekend. But it's a to a point where I can't be without her anymore. I miss her too much, and am no longer happy here in NY. The only time I'm ever happy is when I'm with her.

Ive wanted to move in with her for the past few months, but finding a job there has been hard. I work in the TV/Film business, and obviously, NY is the place to be for that, and jobs of that nature are very limited in PA. She works for the educational system over there in PA, so I decided to apply for a job in the same system. Now, even before my job here in TV, I've always wanted to work with kids/students in some capacity, but never pursued it due to the job I have now. But, since it's a career changing option that would allow for us to be together, I considered it, and am quite frankly, hoping I get the job, because I think it would be fun.

They've asked me to come in for an interview, so my question is, when they ask me why I wanted to relocate from NY to PA, what do I say? I don't want to say "Im moving in with my fiance" because I don't want them to think "oh well, hes just here to work ANY job just to be close to his girl, and he may not be in this wholeheartedly" and then not have them consider me for the job. What would be a good reason to give them as to why I'm relocating, even though moving in is the reason, but wanting to work with kids is something I've always wanted to do. Should I keep it vague? Should I say "Moving to be closer to family?" What would be a good thing to say, that would sound professional?
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Jun 29, 2010, 10:14 AM