Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    norstar Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 16, 2010, 06:11 AM
    Sears lawn mower wiring diagram
    I have a sears lawn tractor model c950... I just replaced the keyed ignition switch...
    Every time I try to start,I blow the 15 amp fuse, I called the supplier I bought the keyed switch from and was assured I got the right switch... any suggestions to what could be blowing the 15amp fuse?
    Morrowrj Posts: 345, Reputation: 22

Jul 2, 2010, 05:56 AM

Is this a keyed connector? Is it possible you have the wires in the wrong spot on the switch?
    jsfocke Posts: 310, Reputation: 37

Jul 2, 2010, 07:36 PM

What was the reason for replacing the original switch?
    Ezekiel69 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 28, 2011, 07:47 PM
    This is my first post. I'm not the brightest but I am a retired Sears technical manager. I was a site technician in Lawn and Garden for a couple of years before I became a manager. Electrical problems can be a nightmare for most technicians. My experience and a lot of support from other technicians helped me resolve many problems. Enough. If a fifteen amp fuse is blowing something is drawing more than 15 amps. I would suspect the starter. To isolate this, jump the soleonoid from the positive terminal of the battery to the starter directly. If the starter engages, it is not the starter. If it does not, it is likely that the bendix is hung up in the flywheel. If this is the case, rock the engine by applying torque to the screen on the top of the engine ( back and forth). If it is hung up you should hear it pop loose. Good luck.
    hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899
    Home Improvement & Construction Expert

Jul 28, 2011, 08:40 PM

I'd look for a damage wire between the switch and starter relay that is grounding to the frame. That wire will most assuredly go through a switch that senses that whether the clutch/brake is engaged and through a switch that senses whether the mower blades are engaged.