Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    oronar06 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

May 21, 2010, 04:52 PM
    I've just been diagnosed with Lupus and Rheumatoid Arthritis. I live on the second f
    I'm a 39 year old professional who has just been diagnosed with Lupus, Rheumatoid Arthritis, ovarian cyst, uterine polyp, and gall stones. I know! I live on the second floor of an apartment complex and requested a transfer of my lease to a ground floor apartment due to the Lupus/Rheumatoid Arthritis as well as having to have a partial hysterectomy and gall bladder removal. My apartment complex informed me that there are no ground floor apartments at least 60 days out and that I will have to pay reletting fees and full market value on my apartment if I break the lease. I have already given them the doctor's note indicating that I need these surgeries as well as my disability but they say I signed a contract. Is this correct?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

May 21, 2010, 05:07 PM

Yes, you can not break the lease, they can move you if and when there is a opening at a handicap unit. But yes this appears correct
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

May 22, 2010, 08:38 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by oronar06 View Post
    I'm a 39 year old professional who has just been diagnosed with Lupus, Rheumatoid Arthritis, ovarian cyst, uterine polyp, and gall stones.
    Hello o:

I don't know if you qualify as a disabled person with your maladies. But, even if you don't, I'd threaten my landlord with a lawsuit requiring that he put in an elevator if he doesn't find accommodations for you. Let HIM sweat. Why should you?

Do your intimidating with a certified letter send return receipt requested.

excon
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

May 22, 2010, 08:41 AM