Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    hgd7833 Posts: 84, Reputation: 0

Jun 18, 2009, 07:54 PM
    Discrimination
    I am a PhD international student and teaching assistant in one of the US state universities.
    Our department gives us offices and desks. I have noticed that the department have split international students ( 3 of us ) in a room and put the US students in another romm which is quite better and more comfort than ours. In the end of the year they told us that we have to vacate the room to a professor that is being recently hired and they are looking for a new room for us. I just told to the department in an email, that I feel spiting international students from US students and choosing us in particular to move us around each year and leave us unsettled , I feel that this is a kind of discrimination. I was just wondering and worried of the fact that it might be a discrimination. I found that the department was very angry and dissatisfied with me and they told me that using the " Discrimination " term is inappropriate and very offensive and I might get badly penalized because of this.
    I am new in US and I wonder if using this word is very big serious matter. They consider that to be accusation although It was just a feeling form my part. Do they have the right to become so anger and dissatisfied of me because of this ? Do they the right to penalize me ?
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Jun 19, 2009, 07:25 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by hgd7833 View Post
    I am new in US and I wonder if using this word is very big serious matter. They consider that to be accusation although It was just a feeling form my part. Do they have the right to become so anger and dissatisfied of me because of this ? Do they the right to penalize me ?
    Hello h:

The only reason they would have to become angry, is if you HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD, and they don't like getting caught. The word "discrimination" IS the proper one!