Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    secondchance Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

May 11, 2010, 10:07 AM
    Convicted felon jobs in healthcare NC
    Hello. This is my first time on this site. Does anyone know if it is possible for a convicted felon (17 years ago) to get into a healthcare career or be eligible for healthcare training in North Carolina? I am thinking about a career change, like MRI Technician.
    cdad Posts: 12,700, Reputation: 1438
    Internet Research Expert

May 11, 2010, 10:40 AM

Mostly its going to depend on what the conviction was in the first place. There are not restrictions in place but discrimination does exist. So if it was a violent offense they may look harder on you then something else. Just be ready to explain yourself if needed.
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

May 11, 2010, 10:44 AM
    Hi, secondchance!

What were you convicted of doing, if you wouldn't mind sharing that, please?

Thanks!
    secondchance Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

May 11, 2010, 10:49 AM
    My boo boo is a felony possession of stolen goods from 1993. Since then I got a four year degree, and have worked in government for 12 years. But now my field is saturated and I am burned out. Something new would be exciting to pursue, but I hate to invest time and money in a career change only to find out I cannot be licensed, certified, and/or get a job. However since 9/11 the job market has gotten paranoid, in my opinion. Instead of asking about a criminal record in terms of years, they ask it in terms of ever. (Have you ever been convicted of a felony? Instead of Have you ever been convicted of a felony in the last 10 years?)
    Jen44 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 6, 2012, 09:51 AM