Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    georgemguitarist Posts: 12, Reputation: 1

May 8, 2010, 02:16 PM
    Career Path/Progression
    Hi All
    I graduated from university and completed my masters in electronic and communication engineering and for couple of years, worked for a comms company as a software developer in C/C++ developing software for wireless devices, but then got made redundant. Ever since, I struggled and still keep struggling to get any kind of decent paid jobs. I currently work as a telephone sales adviser, which is steady and fairly cushy, but modestly paid. When I go for other interviews within IT, prospective employers don't look favourably at my situation. I need to somehow resurrect my career in IT and improve my salary. Can anyone suggest what to go into? Networking, Cisco, Microsoft Support, any suggestions at all? Programing is largely nowadays being outsourced to different countries and I keep thinking that networking, in particular, cisco is the way to go. My concerns are that even if I enroll to do some courses, I would struggle with preparation for exams, as practical exams are often way different then theory. Anyone has any stories/experiences/advice to share?
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

May 8, 2010, 09:42 PM
    Hi, georgemguitarist!

What do you mean by "got made redundant", please?

Thanks!
    georgemguitarist Posts: 12, Reputation: 1

May 12, 2010, 03:39 PM

Exactly what I said. The company I worked for went into administration due financial issues and a lot of employees were made redundant.
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

May 12, 2010, 09:34 PM
    So, I take it that some of the employees were no longer needed then.

Correct?

Are there any other education, skills, job experience and training that you might be able to use for something else, please?

Thanks!
    BlackVY Posts: 823, Reputation: 154

May 12, 2010, 11:09 PM