Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Stringer Posts: 3,733, Reputation: 770
    Business Expert

May 7, 2010, 05:56 PM
    Solar lighting system
    Not sure if I picked the correct forum here but...

I have seven solar light systems in the front and back yards. They are very bright and work well.

Problem... my stupidity; While cutting back some dead branches from some of my boxwoods I accidentally cut the wire from the two lights to the solar panel. I tried to repair it by stripping the coating off the wires and then wrapping the exposed white wire to the other white wire and the red wire to the red wire and wrapped each with electrical tape and then wrapping both again. However, it doesn't work now...

What did I do or not do correctly? I am not an expert however this should have worked in my opinion..

Any advice? These units cost about $70.00 each and I would like to fix it.

Thanks in advance,

Stringer
    cdad Posts: 12,700, Reputation: 1438
    Internet Research Expert

May 7, 2010, 06:01 PM

Do you have an ohm meter? You could test the battery for voltage. Also is there a fuse in the circuit? Im going to assume you were using something metal to do the cutting with. And if the wires touched each other which is what happens in most common cases a fuse will blow and save the circuit. Also if you can I would recommend soldering the wires back together. Then wrap each section with electrical tape and then go over it with something else. Either liquid tape or silicon or something better adept to weatherproofing.
    Business Expert

May 7, 2010, 06:09 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by califdadof3 View Post