Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Apr 21, 2010, 11:42 PM
    Tips and Tricks for Refinishing Wooden Decks
    Hi, All!

Okay, I've been refinishing furniture since about 1979. No problem doing that!

Really would like to know more about the cleaning, stripping, sanding, staining and sealing of wooden decks.

Stripped, sanded and sealed a really large one a couple of years ago for a friend. It was treated lumber. Turned out really good! However, it's the only one that I've ever done.

What are some tips and tricks that you have to doing it on treated or untreated lumber, please?

Cleaning, stripping, sanding, staining, sealing, etc.

Types of equipment and materials to use - cleaner, stripper, sander, abrasive paper, brushes, stain, sealer, et al.

Thanks!
    Uber Member

Apr 22, 2010, 11:04 PM
    I wonder where our Home Improvement Experts are? I know that I need to be patient. However, I'm making the bid later today! :eek:

Just looking for a few tips and tricks... Surely, there are those who are accustomed to "doing" decks here!
    Uber Member

Apr 27, 2010, 01:05 AM
    I still would appreciate help with this! I've got people contacting me to make bids.

Thanks!
    hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899
    Home Improvement & Construction Expert

Apr 27, 2010, 04:56 AM

Sorry Clough. If I knew anything significant I would be happy to share. All I know is be careful with power washers. You can do a lot of damage if the pressure is to high. Of course there are the chemical cleaners at home centers. Other than that, all I know is scrap and sand.
    Uber Member

Apr 27, 2010, 12:09 PM
    Thank you for responding, Harold!

I think that I'm fine with the application of the stain/sealer.

It's the prep that is really the most concern for me so that it's done as quickly and as efficiently as possible.