Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    SRS2157 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 11, 2010, 03:59 PM
    Looking to leave position with no compete clause... same field different position
    Wondering if leaving for a different position in same type business <much smaller scale> is enforceable in a no compete clause
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Apr 11, 2010, 04:15 PM

If it will put you into competition with your old firm or if the new firm is in competition with the old firm and you have inside knowledge that will help them compete it could be enforceable.
    Even if you do not pass along that inside info.
    SRS2157 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 11, 2010, 07:03 PM

That is what I thought... the two businesses sell like products... both buying from each other... I learned this position <on current job> but am being offered more money to do what I have a degree in and do not do at this job... one business obviously much smaller than the other but actually are not competitors... they each have their own niche! Thanks for your insight
    Stringer Posts: 3,733, Reputation: 770
    Business Expert

Apr 11, 2010, 07:42 PM

If you are not in the same position as you had with your present firm sales for example then I do not see any litigation coming against you. I think that your position should now be one of an ethical position and not cross any 'lines' that would put you or your reputation in jeopardy.

I would discuss this with your new company officials and make sure that all matters are precise and clear cut.

IMO no company has the right to prevent you from earning a living in your chosen field of endeavor.

Stringer
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Apr 12, 2010, 04:09 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Stringer View Post
    IMO no company has the right to prevent you from earning a living in your chosen field of endeavor.

Stringer