Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jack dandy Posts: 226, Reputation: 9

Mar 24, 2010, 10:35 AM
    Need help in getting over guilt of putting my dog down, he was 13 yrs old?
    I am asking for any help I can get at getting over the guilt of putting my 13 yr. old german short hair pointer down, he was probably the best dog I ever had and I've had a few. Any help would be appreciated.
    justcurious55 Posts: 4,360, Reputation: 790
    Ultra Member

Mar 24, 2010, 11:01 AM

I'm not a dog expert. But isn't 13 old for a dog? My aunt had to put one of her dogs down. It was really hard for her. But watching him suffer in his old age was worse. He could barely eat anymore. He could barely walk. We were pretty sure he was at least half blind and half deaf. Had you dog been suffering before you put him down?
    Lucky098 Posts: 2,594, Reputation: 543
    Ultra Member

Mar 24, 2010, 11:25 AM

Was your dog suffering? If yes, then you made the best, a loving decision. I have gsps too. 5 years ago my old girl had to be put down. She had cancer of the blatter. It was so bad that the x-rays came back and her bladder looked like a steak. We did the surgeries.. and she did OK for awhile.. but the cancer became more aggressive and took out her kidneys. It was one of the worse days ever... but it was the right decision.

Everyone has a heart dog. He obviously was yours. You may never get over him, but trust me, the pain a feeling of loss and guilt will go away. He is in a better place... waiting for you at rainbow bridge... Rainbows Bridge Home Page
    Emily94 Posts: 1,129, Reputation: 64
    Ultra Member

Mar 30, 2010, 11:14 AM

We have a secret, you and I
    That no one else shall know,
    For who but I can see you lie
    Each night in fire glow?
    And who but I can reach my hand
    Before we go to bed
    And feel the living warmth of you
    And touch your silken head?
    And only I walk woodland paths
    And see ahead of me,