Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pinky123 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 29, 2006, 09:02 PM
    Hit and Go
    3 days ago, unfortunately I hit a car, it was parked in a road. It was during when I was taking back and I thought it was a small touch. So I did not informed the car owner. But today I saw some paint on the back bumper of my car and I hope it is the paint of that car. I don't know what was happened with that car really. So if they complained with police what will be the procedures ?
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Dec 21, 2006, 10:43 AM
    I am not a lawyer, but it seems to me you are guilty of a hit-and-run. However, since there were NO injuries, you may be able to resolve it by going to the owner, admit the error and settle with him WITHOUT involving the police. Further, unless the damage is major, I would not even tell either your or his insurance companies. Just offer to pay for the repairs out of pocket.

That way, you do not have a hit-and-run criminal complaint on your record and your insurance rates will not explode upward!

Be ready to pay about $1,000, but trust me, that's minor compared to what you will pay if you get the police or insurance company involved.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Dec 21, 2006, 01:15 PM
    Unless someone witnessed the bump and got your license number, its unlikely you will be traced. If that had happened, you probably would have been contacted by now.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Dec 21, 2006, 07:26 PM
    Scott's point is well taken.

The question is whether you want to take the chance.

If you come forward, the cost will be minimal.

If they track you down, you are looking at some significant fines and possibly a record.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 21, 2006, 09:09 PM