Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Leena1 Posts: 2, Reputation: 2

Mar 10, 2010, 11:05 PM
    I have to cancel on my sisters wedding??
    My sister is getting married in Greece in a few months and because my partner and I are living in Australia we can't afford the 5,000 to attend.
    We only have managed to save less than a grand so far and my partner is doing some extra work at home. I work in a shop and I'm finding it hard to save the money whilst also trying to still have fun. We were meant to be out here for a working holiday but so far all our money is going on bills and saving for the wedding. We haven't done a single fun thing since we have been here due to lack of money.

Im thinking about canceling and offering to pay for them to come out and visit us next year, which will cost us around 2,000, which is more affordable for us and can give us a bit more time to save.
    The truth is Im heartbroken that I can't attend but my sisters reaction may well be very angry and rejected. She will see it as a personal attack and Im terrified of telling her... even with the holiday gesture.
    She was angry at me for going to Australia when I knew she was getting married. It was something I was desperate to do but now its backfired and she's going to be really angry. I promised I'd make it but we just can't get the money. We are both working all the hours under the sun already.
    Any advice?
    Blue Angel Posts: 266, Reputation: 51

Mar 10, 2010, 11:11 PM

Of course it's best to be completely honest with her, the sooner the better. She will probably be more angry if you wait till the last minute to tell her that you can't make it. She will most likely be angry regardless but there's really no way around it. My only thought is that maybe you have some family or friends that can help you come up with the money, arrange it so you can pay them back. Hopefully someone else has some better suggestions for you.
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431