Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    markous1 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 3, 2010, 08:18 AM
    How to install lead pan liner
    Any old timers out there

Hello guys I have been plumbing for about 11 years. Have installed hundres of pan liners but never a lead one. This guy called me up and wants a lead one. Crazy right! But that is what he wants. Have looked on the internet and cannot find anything about installing them apart from making it up outside the shower first. But I do not know what to do about the corners, as I'm pretty sure I won't be able to fold the lead like a membraine one . Any help would be appreciated as normally I would have told the guy to find someone who has done a few , but I have been out of work for a while now and really need the money.

Thanks

Mark
    letmetellu Posts: 3,151, Reputation: 317
    Ultra Member

Mar 3, 2010, 07:31 PM

To start you need to find a sheet of four pound sheet lead. It needs to be, in size the area of the shower plus about eight inches added to all four sides.

To tell you in easy terms try this, take an 81/2 x 11 sheet of paper, bent up four inches on one side now do the same on the adjecent corner. Now fold the corner from where the two folds meet to the corner of the paper. Fold the two sides up and you will have this tab sticking out on a 45 degree angle, fold it around the corner. Now do the other three corners the same way.

When you do the lead you should make the turned up sides about eight inches high.

Now lay it over you drain and make a hole in the center of the drain hole, only make this hole the size of the draind pipe and then finish putting your doubloe seepage drain on top of that.

I hope you can understand how I told you... but if you have done plastic you should be able to figure it out.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Mar 3, 2010, 07:42 PM