Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    HTijerina Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 27, 2006, 09:05 PM
    A/C not cooling, Small Copper pipe COLD and Large Copper pipe room temp.
    I just moved into a newly constructed townhome and the a/c units are of course new. The A/c is not cooling at all. The machine inside turns on as well as the one outside. The inside A/C makes a strange sucking sound kind of like if you were sipping something out of a cup with a straw and you ran out of whatever you were drinking. I'm assuming it's low on freon but I'm no expert or novice for that matter. One thing I did notice is that the small copper pipe in the inside unit is super cold and the big insulated copper pipe is just room temperature. The conditions of the pipes never differ, the small one is always cold and the large one is always room temp, nothing more and nothing less. Can someone please help me? I don't want to A/C tech taking me for a ride saying I need this and that.
    Thanks in advance for your help.
    NorthernHeat Posts: 1,455, Reputation: 132
    Ultra Member

Nov 27, 2006, 09:56 PM
    The little copper pipe should only be cold right at the indoor unit not much before it. From what I can guess, you have a leak and its low on refrigerant
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Nov 27, 2006, 10:03 PM
    The builder or seller is liable to have the A/C in working order. If you need to, talk to the lawyer that did your closing.
    HTijerina Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 29, 2006, 06:15 AM
    Contractor sent over the a/c tech yesterday and he said it was just low on freon. They filled it up and the its blowing cold air now and the small pipe is now warm the big pipe is cool but not cold. It took close to 13 hours for the a/c to bring the townhome from 85 degrees to 75 degrees. Is that normal for a place that's been without a/c for about 6 days? I'm just afraid of my electric bill if it continues likethat.