Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    justcurious55 Posts: 4,360, Reputation: 790
    Ultra Member

Feb 18, 2010, 10:14 PM
    Ever tried acupuncture?
    Has anyone tried acupuncture? I've had this awful pain in my shoulder for longer than I can remember. It used to be on and off. Nothing helps it anymore. No matter how much I stretch it it hurts. I changed to a better purse (I thought maybe my other one was too big and heavy and causing it), switched pillows, even got a new mattress (I needed a new one anyway, it wasn't just for my shoulder). I know my dr does acupuncture but I've never tried it before. I'm thinking about asking her for it, I've heard it can help for back and shoulder pain. I was just wondering what other people's experiences are
    KBC Posts: 2,550, Reputation: 487
    Ultra Member

Feb 19, 2010, 07:09 AM

Sure,I have had it for tenon/musculature problems in my arm and for neck pain.

Can't say it was totally effective,it lacks the finality of surgery,even with repeated visits/treatments.

It did stop the pains for a short time,say a few hours,but in the long run,I had to have the surgeries.

My shoulder rotary cuff was a minimal scope surgery,requiring an outpatient visit,3 stitches for the scope's entries,and one return visit for the removal of them.

They removed 3 bone spurs and replaced the bone with nylon,I still feel where the nylon was placed,not in any negative way,just aware of it, it's foreign still after 6 years.

My friend also has had repeated visits(many more than me) to her therapist,needles she calls him:p,but,again,like me,she hasn't been convinced that it does lasting relief.

I trust my medical providers to make the right call for my problems, although slow to finally get them to agree with surgery,I have had 4 procedures which might have been addressed with acupuncture rather than surgery, but in the end,they have all required a more aggressive approach.
    jmjoseph Posts: 2,727, Reputation: 1244
    Ultra Member