Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bluelite Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 15, 2010, 07:49 PM
    How to replace the Ignition Lock Cylinder on a 97 avalon
    I see your answer on how to replace the Ignition Lock Cylinder on a 97 avalon is it the same for a 95? I'm not a mechanic but pretty good with my hands and comfortable enough. Is this something I can do on my own or do I have to take to a dealer? My key will not turn past the lock position. I'm not sure if it's the key or the switch. I can however unlock the steering wheel. Any ideas? And anyone know of any step by step videos out there or online manuals? Thanks
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Feb 15, 2010, 08:04 PM

I don't have direct experience with your car; however, this link on replacing the steering lock mechanism on Hondas may still help:

https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/cars-t...tml#post224842

Before doing anything else, I would try another key. I would also spray the locking mechanism with WD-40. GM recommends this product on locks.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

97 Toyota Avalon Key Cylinder Replacement [ 3 Answers ]

How do I remove my key cylinder for a 97 Toyota Avalon?

How much does it cost to replace the toyota avalon ignition cylinder? [ 4 Answers ]

I have tried jiggling the steering wheel, turning the steering wheel forcefully each side, overriding the transmission to change the gears, spraying WD 40 into the cylinder, and lightly tapping the cylinder with a hammer. Anything else I can do, or does the dealer have to fix it? And if so, how...

'81 accord Ignition lock cylinder [ 2 Answers ]