Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Unondel Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Feb 14, 2010, 05:41 PM
    Wife wants kids I don't
    I'm 29, she's 26, we got married young and since then I have been in the U.S.Marines, deployed twice, and spent about 3 years away from home. I'm currently studying thanks to the GI Bill, my career choices will have me gone a lot from home, which is just another reason for me to not have kids.

When we got married we both knew each others position on kids, she wanted several and I knew that, and she also knew that I didn't want any, as I said we were both very young and I think we both thought we could change the others mind. I love her and I want her to be happy, but I haven't changed my mind and I won't about kids. I've been looking online for some help, but most people argue over why the person doesn't want kids rather than offer help and advice. Is there anyone who's had this same situation? And can someone offer some legitimate advice rather than try to argue with me over reasons or try to change my mind?
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Feb 14, 2010, 06:07 PM

For whatever personal reasons you may have your wife needs to respect your wishes not to have kids. If she keeps pressing the issue I don't think your marriage will have long to last under those conditions. Some women think that they can change a man after they get married to think the way she wishes him to think. If her case I think she may have made a mistake. You need to sit down with her and fully explain that you don't want kids and why so she will understand. Then, if you are so inclined you can have a vasectomy to cinch the deal. It apparently has not sunk into her yet that you are dead serious about this decision. I quite understand where you are coming from. Some men just don't want kids period and no amount of reasoning will change their minds.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Feb 14, 2010, 06:08 PM