Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    helpplease515 Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Feb 3, 2010, 08:04 AM
    Got caught shoplifting a Walmart. No police were called. What will happen?
    Hello and thank you for helping me. I am so scarred right no and any advice would be awesome. I am 17 years old and have been caught shoplifting at Walmart. The cosmetics I took would have come out to be about $40. I was taken to the back office and they took down my information such as name, address, what I looked like. The police was not called, but they told me I would receive a summon in the mail. How long will it take for me to get it? Is this the same as a civil demand? Will I still have to go to court? If so, what am looking at for punisment? I am so sorry for what I did. This is a first and LAST time thing for me. I am a good student and usually not this kind of person. Please just help me.
    cdad Posts: 12,700, Reputation: 1438
    Internet Research Expert

Feb 3, 2010, 08:52 AM

If you receive a summons in the mail it may be for petty theft. As the value of what you took wasn't over $100. You will have a court date. And you will enter a plea. What your looking at for punishment depends on where you live and the mood of the judge. Just be honest in court.
    chicachicaboom Posts: 1, Reputation: 2

Feb 8, 2010, 03:22 AM