Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    fellow Posts: 5, Reputation: 2

Jan 29, 2010, 10:21 AM
    First year choice, residents choice
    I saw a similar question, but since my situation is a little different, I would like to be sure please. I was on H1-B from 2005 to February 2008. I then switched to F1 and was on F1 until end September 2009, when I went back to H1-B. Under substantial presence test, I was a resident for 2008 (>31 days in 2008 + 1/3 of 365 in 2007 + 1/6 of 365 in 2006). For 2009, according to the information I get on this site, I can be a dual-status taxpayer if I make the First year choice and wait until I meet 183 days of presence, and since I am married can be considered a resident for the WHOLE of 2009 if I make another election for my wife and I to be treated as residents. Is this correct? My wife is on H4 and had no income in all the years we have been here. My question is then, with the first year choice and additional election, are we both then treated as residents for 2009 and file form 1040?
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Jan 30, 2010, 04:11 AM

If you file resident return in 2008, file joint return as residents.

Jan 31, 2010, 10:34 AM

Thank you MukatA, but my situation changed in 2008, so just because I was a resident then, doesn't mean I'm a resident for 2009. The similar question I read was where Taxresearcher and ATE were debating about the first year choice and choice to be treated as a resident when married. My problem is that I was a resident but then became nonresident, because of change to F1. So if I changed back to F1, can I take first year choice if I was a resident in the year before?
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Jan 31, 2010, 11:32 PM

You should forward this link to AtlantaTaxExpert and IntlTax for their comments.

My opinion, you can safely file resident tax return. Must pay FICA taxes even during F-1 and OPT.

Feb 4, 2010, 12:20 PM