Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Jarnak Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 22, 2010, 08:29 AM
    How to determine the reason why an animal has died, by a fossil
    This will be a complex thing, so if there is any paleontology expert out there please respond.

My father always hollering with me when I talk about scientific subject. He believes in the "brute force" method, which means whoever able to shout louder is right, and he believes in common sense (like we cannot measure the distances between our Sun and other stars because they are to far away, he knows nothing about Leavitt). He hates scientists and outrageously sure that nobody on Earth can show him evidence.

I am incapable to convince him him, that with some modern processes we can determine the reason why an animal has died, by the fossil of that animal. I have read lots of book about this topic, but I am not an expert, that is why I cannot talk convincingly to him. He said to me to look on the Internet for evidence, and that I will find nothing.

His prime argument is, that the fossils are authentic, because during millions of year water flows through everything, so they are damaged. I told him about radiocarbon dating, but his only argument was: Don't believe everything to those **** scientists.

The whole quarrel was because I said, that some prehistoric animals died because of poison-gas like Methane. He said that we cannot know that, it is impossible.

Please somebody help me, to provide some authentic literature to convince him, he don't believes to forumers or wikipedia. It causes me great grief to see him like this, not believing in foundational scientific theories.

Thank you for your help
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Jan 22, 2010, 09:01 AM