Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    josh3169 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 16, 2006, 03:19 PM
    Bank loan
    My loan officer is threating me because my insurance was cancelled then after that I got in an accident now he is going to call the cops can he do that
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Nov 16, 2006, 03:38 PM
    Hello josh:

Sure, he can call 'em. I don't know what for, but he can sure call.

I think there are things that you were supposed to do that you're not telling us about.

excon
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Nov 16, 2006, 04:25 PM
    Of course he can call them and invite them over for donuts. ( I can say that since I am a retired officer)

But this is not a criminal case, it is a civil issue.

By the contract you were required by law to keep insurnce on your vechile.
    If you did not, they had the option of buying it thierself and charging you, having your loan go into default and repo or to merely warn you to get insurance.

So you have gotten into a wreck, as long as you are going to pay the loan, and don't get behind, it does not really matter normally.

You will still have to pay for the truck, even if they repo it, when they sell it, you have to pay for the balance. ( which normally could be more for a wrecked truck than you owe before the repo)

So if you don't pay, they get a judgement, garnish your wages, attack your bank account and the such.

He is theatening you to attempt to make you make payments I will guess, since I guess you may also be late with your payments. Just catch your payments up and he most likely will not be as upset. ( my guess to the issue)
    s_cianci Posts: 5,472, Reputation: 760
    Uber Member

Nov 19, 2006, 05:14 PM
    I don't know about calling the cops but he can sue for for the balance owed on the car. I suppose he can call the cops ; what the cops will do about it, if anything, is something else.