Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mandolinsrule Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 29, 2009, 03:35 PM
    how sharpen knife
    When I sharpen knives with the draw=through sharpener or the ceramic rods, I can never get them as sharp as they were when new. What's the very best way to sharpen a knife? Thanks
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Dec 30, 2009, 08:16 PM

Use a sharpening stone. I have a 10" long cylinder sharpening stone that has a 4" wooden handle. It is old but sharpens my knives to a good honed edge.
    jmjoseph Posts: 2,727, Reputation: 1244
    Ultra Member

Dec 30, 2009, 08:59 PM

The company "Lansky" has really nice ceramic sticks, of varying courseness, and which are affixed at the appropriate angle. Those are great.

I sharpen my knives on a regular basis, but I use whetstones, the rectangular ones, again with varying roughness, and then finish off with a ceramic stick. But I have been doing this for over 40 years, and am quite used to it.

A good steel, which chefs use, is good for kitchen knives.

They have some pretty good diamond surface blocks that work really well too.

Check out these steps: http://www.instructables.com/id/Knif...pening-Tricks/
    mrbigcat Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 4, 2010, 03:38 AM

First id like to ask what kind of knives you are using? There are many different ways to sharpen different knives and if you sharpen them incorrectly there is a large chance you have ruined any edge the knife originally had. Also there is a large difference between sharpening and honing a knife. When you are sharpening a knife you are removing a very small layer a metal to create a new edge. Through regular use this edge will begin to bend and warp and create a very small curl at its thinnest point making the knife extremely dull, honing is simply shaping this curl back into a point.
    Missouri Bound Posts: 1,532, Reputation: 94
    Ultra Member

Mar 17, 2010, 09:11 PM