Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    janieg Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Apr 23, 2004, 11:46 AM
    ? About installing new shower drain
    I've checked the messages here and have ordered a Wingtite shower drain replacement kit for a leaking shower drain. I reviewed the instructions at their site for removing the old shower drain, and I guess I have the type of drain that was glued in. When I read on their site how to remove it, I'm a little concerned because I have zero plumbing experience. They talk about using a pipe wheel cutter, putting in a riser, etc. and it's all Greek to me. Is there a simple step-by-step method for removing this type of shower drain? I couldn't understand how to insert an image, but here's the URL for the jpg of a picture of my shower drain:
    http://www.quailhaven.com/showerdrain.jpg

The house is 10 years old and I'm wondering if the putty or whatever that was used to seal it in has decayed to the point that I could just pry it out.

If it requires a lot of experience or courage to remove, then I'm wondering if I should call a plumber. I do have another shower in the house, so if I completely blow it, at least I can still get clean every day.

Thanks for any ideas,
    Janie G.
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Apr 23, 2004, 02:15 PM
    Re: ? About installing new shower drain