Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    InfoJunkie4Life Posts: 1,409, Reputation: 81
    Ultra Member

Dec 20, 2009, 07:03 AM
    Portable Applications
    My knowledge of computers is fairly sufficient. For the last 8 months I have been doing small network installs, computer rebuilds, fresh installs, Linux experiments, pirating (No further details to be given due to the TOC), DVR/CCTV installs, network wiring, virus and clean ups, and a number of other computer oriented tasks. I've been working with computers for somewhere near 8 years.

Anyway, a year or so ago, I came across something called a portable application. I've never heard of these things before, and I did some reading. I was so enthralled I downloaded hundreds of applications and did hours and hours of experimenting and testing. I loved them, took them everywhere on CDR's. It was great. So, I had this great idea. What if I could create a CD that would be the ultimate portable CD. I will make a list of intended features:

At least 100 Applications
    No registry Foot Print
    No Hard Drive Foot Print
    Relatively Fast
    50% compatible with all windows OS's 95 and up
    Good for System Repairs/Clean ups and for personal privacy anywhere
    and a few others I can't remember.

This seemed to be an endless and difficult task. Especially since I was finding more and more every day, and had some trouble with all of my goals. Well, I got busy so it got put on the back burner for a while. Eventually, I saved a few of them to a flash disk I got from a friend, and was using them for clean ups and other work I've been doing.

Recently I've been doing quite a bit of research and have decided to go back at it, and so far with far more progress. I'll tell you what I've got, and what I am hoping for.