Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    golfandhaircuts Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 8, 2006, 09:01 PM
    Programs won't run, files won't open
    Good evening. I have been having trouble with my Windows XP and it has gotten so bad I rarely use my profile. All other profiles (3 more for the family) work just fine. Only mine is messed up. None of the programs will run and I can't open files. The background is there and the first menu will pop up when asked for but the program list won't populate and any other functions are not working.

I would appreciate any suggestions. I am a novice at fixing computers. Well beginner really. If you need more info I can offer but I don't know what else to say right now.

Thank you for your help.

Todd
    StuMegu Posts: 576, Reputation: 64

Nov 9, 2006, 02:53 PM
    Backup your files first!

Delete your profile and create another one from scratch! There's no point in flogging a dead horse unless you have a very good reason to:)
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Nov 9, 2006, 02:59 PM
    Nice idea Stu, I'd try a repair install this maybe something worse than a corrupt profile.
    Here's the official Micro$oft way of doing a repair install,
    And Here's one with screen shots.

Basically this installs windows over the top of your current setup.
    So you don't loose any information you already have.
    golfandhaircuts Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 9, 2006, 03:55 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by StuMegu
    Backup your files first!

Delete your profile and create another one from scratch! There's no point in flogging a dead horse unless you have a very good reason to:)

What if my profile is the main "owner" or "administrator" profile?
    StuMegu Posts: 576, Reputation: 64

Nov 10, 2006, 05:30 AM
    As long as you can use any profile to create another, you can just create a new user with administrator rights.