Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    12kokki Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Nov 9, 2009, 07:40 PM
    Home Well Jet Pump Mystery.
    Hey all!

I have been having these water problems lately and can't seem to figure it out.
    It seems that after this second pressure switch I bought, the lead connections and wires melt so that they can not reach far enough to connect. I have had 2 people come out and replace the pressure switch, but it seems to keep happening. When the connectors dislodge, there is no water or power to the pump. We also got a new gage as well. The switch is set for 20/60. It's the 2 center connectors that melt. I am not good at this kind of stuff so let me know if you need any other info. Thanks for any help!!

Tim
    EPMiller Posts: 624, Reputation: 37

Nov 9, 2009, 08:41 PM

Are the conductors under those connections aluminum? Are the screws torqued down correctly?

Loose connections get hot when there is significant current through them. Melted wire nuts are great examples.

Nov 9, 2009, 09:09 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by 12kokki View Post
    Hey all!

I have been having these water problems lately and can't seem to figure it out.
    It seems that after this second pressure switch I bought, the lead connections and wires melt so that they can not reach far enough to connect. I have had 2 people come out and replace the pressure switch, but it seems to keep happening. When the connectors dislodge, there is no water or power to the pump. We also got a new gage as well. The switch is set for 20/60. Its the 2 center connectors that melt. I am not good at this kind of stuff so let me know if you need any other info. Thanks for any help!!!

Tim
    Thanks for the reply!!