Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tsexton76 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Nov 6, 2009, 09:29 PM
    My Deceased Husband's Debt
    My husband died about a month ago and I have been going through our bills. He has no estate. He has some credit stuff that needs to be taken care of(that is in his name only. My name is not on anything.) Do I have to pay these bills?

Nov 6, 2009, 09:42 PM

What are the statutes in CO?
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Nov 6, 2009, 09:58 PM

CO is not a community property state, but it is a marital property state. I am not a lawyer, but from what I can tell, you are not obliged to pay his credit card debts if your name is not on the cards.

Did he have a will? Are you the executor of the will? (The executor may have some responsibility to settle his debts.) Do you have a lawyer? If not, I suggest you consult with one.

Nov 7, 2009, 06:30 PM
    There is no will and no estate, but we have a house in both names ,but still a large moragage on it,can his credtios came after the house?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Nov 7, 2009, 07:37 PM

Was the house held as joint tenants with right of survivorship? If so, the house passed to you outside the estate, so its not subject to creditors.

If he had no assets solely in his name, then just send the creditors a copy of the death certificate wit a letter stating there were no assets to pay any debts.
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Nov 10, 2009, 12:26 PM