Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Kia Posts: 272, Reputation: 13

Nov 6, 2009, 09:16 AM
    Quick questions
    I had a couple of general questions: What is an interface? What role do interfaces play in GUI-based applications? Your help would be apprecitated. Thanks!
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Nov 6, 2009, 10:01 AM

Please review the guidelines on asking for help with homework that can be found here:

https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/arts-l...board-b-u.html

Nov 6, 2009, 12:16 PM

First of all... no its not a homework assignment. It is a quiz question that
    I have turned in already. I just wanted to ask the question to see if I was on the right track because I am new to this field.. If someone needs me to prove that in order to ask these types of questions than that is fine. I am not asking anyone to do my hw
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Nov 6, 2009, 12:26 PM

So, again, post your answer and we will tell you whether its correct or not.

That is the policy of this site.
    Perito Posts: 3,139, Reputation: 150
    Ultra Member

Nov 8, 2009, 08:45 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Kia View Post
    I had a couple of general questions: What is an interface? What role do interfaces play in GUI-based applications? Your help would be appreciated. Thanks!
    There are a number of different interfaces. The human-machine interface is what the programmer designs -- the menus, the text boxes, radio buttons, etc. The role is pretty obvious.

There are also interfaces that have nothing to do with GUI. For example, when designing a stand-alone module that is intended to be accessed by other programming modules, an interface is designed by the programmer. The only access that is allowed is through that interface.

Does this help you any?

Nov 9, 2009, 02:20 PM

Yes, thank you for responding. I think I was on the right track