Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Jim d jones Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Oct 19, 2009, 08:00 AM
    Where can I go to bid on commercial cleaning contracts
    Hello
    I just started a commercial cleaning business about 4 months ago.
    I have some experience. Is there a site I can bid on contracts in my area?
    How do I obtain my first client. I did the free ads online, passed out flyers and business cards, any ideas please help!

Thanks!
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Oct 19, 2009, 08:10 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim d jones View Post
    i just started a commercial cleaning business about 4 months ago. is there a site i can bid on contracts in my area?

how do i obtain my first client.
    Hello Jim:

People don't hire cleaning companies because of their bid. Even if you were to find a nice place to advertise and place bids, no company looks there...

Nope. They hire people because they're PEOPLE... So, the only way you're going to obtain your first client, is to go out into the world and make a sales call on him.

excon
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Oct 19, 2009, 01:14 PM
    Hi, Jim d jones!

You say that you have some experience. Was that working on your own or for someone else, please?

Thanks!

Oct 19, 2009, 10:40 PM

Working on my own.
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Oct 19, 2009, 11:05 PM
    Hi again, Jim d jones!

Have you tried "cold-calling" on potential customers? Also, where did you place free ads online, please?

Thanks!

Oct 20, 2009, 10:01 AM

I just started cold calling seems I've got a couple leads. There has been no deal yet though. My online ads are with yellowbot, merchantcircle, citysqures,monta, kudzu, yellow pages AOL any other ideas were I should ad my business

Please advise - jim
    Stringer Posts: 3,733, Reputation: 770
    Business Expert

Oct 20, 2009, 10:21 AM