Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jakemon31 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Oct 12, 2009, 03:53 PM
    Outlets have power, lights work, won't run tools
    Hello all this is my first time here.

My problem is in my detached garage that has its own elec service separate from the house (I get 2 bills). 100 amp service in the garage and 200 amp in the house.

I tried to install a garage door opener and the outlets in my garage won't run it, the motor does click and light bulb flickers. When I run an extension cord from my house to the opener it works perfectly. I tried 2 different circuits in the garage, both same result. Again, the outlets have power and lights work.

Im no electrician but I removed breaker box cover and everything looks secure I didn't poke around at all
    hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899
    Home Improvement & Construction Expert

Oct 12, 2009, 04:28 PM

Sounds more like a door opener installation problem than a electrical problem. Do you have the door safety light beam properly installed and aligned. Flickering lights sound like the electronic lock may be engaged.

Oct 12, 2009, 04:36 PM

It had no safety beam its an older opener. It was laying in the garage when I bought the house last year. When I plug the opener into my house outlets with an extension the opener works fine up and down with no hang ups
    KISS Posts: 12,510, Reputation: 839
    Uber Member

Oct 12, 2009, 04:37 PM

Lights have much lower power requirements than a motor.

In all likeliness there is a loose connection. It may not even be in your panel, it could be the service at the connection before the masthead.

You probably don't own a voltmeter, so you can't look at the voltage with or without a load, however, you could plug your toaster in in the garage and I'll bet it doesn't work properly either. Same level doneness in the same amount of time. Depends on how the toaster is designed.
    medic-dan Posts: 321, Reputation: 23

Oct 12, 2009, 04:39 PM