Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    nee0637 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 12, 2009, 09:09 AM
    Liability coverage for damage to cabin rental
    Hey, I am new to this online group, so bear with me, please.

My question is regarding the liability portion of my homeowners insurance. My family and I were staying with my parents at a vacation cabin in the nc mountains. My wife accidentally turned an iron over onto the floor, which burnt a nice iron-shaped hole in the carpeting in the basement. It was the cheap glue-down style carpet so it burnt pretty quickly.

I told the owners of the cabin since it was the right thing to do. I do not know if they will come calling for repairs or not. The repair could be minor (a patch) or major (replacing all connecting carpeting). Or they might just never call. I am wondering whether it is covered under the liability portion of my policy. There is an exclusion under the liability portion (#14) that states that they will not pay for property damage that is caused by an insured (my wife) who causes damage to a property rented or occupied by an insured. But, my parents were renting for the week and not me. Not to mention, I think the intent on that exclusion is for long-term rentals/condos owned by me that should be insured under separate HO or renters policy, not for a place that is rented for a week on vacation. Also, the policy says the exclusion does not apply if it is caused by fire, explosion, or smoke. I reckon that heat from an iron would not extend to fire :rolleyes:.

Any input would be appreciated. My coverage is in ga, but the loss occurred in nc. I have not called my insurer (allstate) and asked the question because I do not want them to automatically open a claim if I don't need to.

Thanks
    nikosmom Posts: 1,611, Reputation: 488
    Ultra Member

Oct 12, 2009, 05:44 PM

Usually your homeowner's policy will transfer to cover your personal property but not liability.