Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    dfwguy62 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 31, 2006, 06:58 PM
    Moen faucet diverter
    I have a 12 year old Moen single lever faucet in my kitchen. About one week ago, it started showing signs of a problem. When I turn it on after it hasn't been used for an hour or two, the water pressure is very low, almost none. If I turn it on and off a few times, then the pressure gets better. Finally, it will reach full pressure and stay that way for as long as I use it in that session. But after an hour or two of inactivity again, it returns to this low pressure. There is a sprayer with the sink and it does not really have any problems.

I'm not good at these things, but I did manage to read about Moen cartridge replacements and actually went through the process of replacing the entire cartridge (model 1225) with a new one. I was pleased with myself. But an hour later, the problem was still there.

It is not an aerator issue. I have removed it entirely and still see the problem.

I've read on various boards (and have even been advised) to clean the diverter. The problem is that I can't figure out how to get to it. Everyone says remove the faucet spout and there it is. Well, I can't seem to remove my faucet spout. It seems very firmly attached. How far do you need to tear it down? Does the 1225 cartridge need to come back out first? What abouit the thing that the cartridge sits in? Do all Moen faucets come apart in this manner?

Any ideas? I am selling the house and close next week. I don't really want to invest in a whole new faucet
    Sager Posts: 31, Reputation: 4

Nov 2, 2006, 12:11 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by dfwguy62